23_0111_Reds Chris Welsh BOTY_4x5
23_0111_Reds Chris Welsh BOTY_4x5

Congratulations to our very own Chris Welsh for winning the Ohio Sportscaster of the Year Award from the National Sports Media Association (NSMA).

Welsh is the analyst for Cincinnati Reds baseball on Bally Sports Ohio and Reds on Radio. The honor is the first time he has been recognized by the NSMA, and it marks the first time a Reds TV broadcaster has won the award. 

Welsh has been calling Reds baseball for 30 years following a 5-year Major League career with the Padres, Expos, Rangers and Reds. From 1993-2009 Welsh and partner George Grande worked together for the 17 seasons as the longest-running TV duo in Reds history. He is a graduate of Cincinnati’s St. Xavier High School and earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of South Florida, where his baseball coach was Hall of Famer Robin Roberts.

“Bally Sports Ohio salutes Chris Welsh for his recognition as Ohio Sportscaster of the Year and would like to thank the NSMA for recognizing his achievements. In his three decades as a Reds analyst, Chris has been a trusted and informative voice for viewers in Cincinnati and throughout Reds Country,” stated Randy Stephens, Senior Vice President and General Manager of Bally Sports Ohio.

In addition to his television work, Welsh is active in several local charities. He serves on the Board of the Powel Crosley Jr. Amateur Baseball Fund, which oversees the Kid Glove Program. He is a partner in Champions Baseball Academy and a featured speaker at many local venues. Welsh created and operates baseballrulesacademy.com, an interactive website designed to teach the rules of baseball by use of video lessons and quizzes.

The NSMA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, which seeks to develop educational opportunities for those who are interested in pursuing a career in sports media, through networking, interning, mentoring, and scholarship programs. The NSMA also honors, preserves, and celebrates the diverse legacy of sports media in the United States. Founded in 1959 as the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association in Salisbury, N.C., the NSSA added its Hall of Fame in 1962, with Grantland Rice as its first member. The organization rebranded to the National Sports Media Association in 2016 and moved to Winston-Salem, N.C. one year later.