May 15, 2019; St. Louis, MO, USA; St. Louis Blues right wing Vladimir Tarasenko (91) is congratulated by center Brayden Schenn (10) and left wing Jaden Schwartz (17) after scoring a goal against San Jose Sharks goaltender Martin Jones (not pictured) during the second period in game three of the Western Conference Final of the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs at Enterprise Center. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

The St. Louis Blues released their expansion draft protected list Sunday morning, and Vladimir Tarasenko and Jaden Schwartz aren't on it.

Blues GM Doug Armstrong chose to protect seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender. The Seattle Kraken will make their expansion draft picks Wednesday night. The Kraken can select only one player from the Blues organization.

The protected Blues players:

Forwards: Ivan Barbashev, Jordan Kyrou, Ryan O'Reilly, David Perron, Brayden Schenn, Oskar Sundqvist and Robert Thomas.

Defensemen: Justin Faulk, Torey Krug and Colton Parayko.

Goaltender: Jordan Binnington

With first- and second-year players exempt from the expansion draft, the players left unprotected are:

Forwards: Sam Anas, Sammy Blais, Tyler Bozak, Kyle Clifford, Mike Hoffman, Tanner Kaspick, Mackenzie MacEachern, Curtis McKenzie, Austin Poganski, Zach Sanford, Jaden Schwartz, Nolan Stevens, Vladimir Tarasenko, Nathan Walker.

Defensemen: Robert Bortuzzo, Vince Dunn, Niko Mikkola, Mitch Reinke, Steven Santini, Marco Scandella, Jake Walman.

Goaltenders: Evan Fitzpatrick, Jon Gillies, Ville Husso.

Schwartz (10 seasons) and Tarasenko (nine) are the two longest-tenured players on the Blues' roster. Tarasenko has missed most of the last two seasons while undergoing and rehabbing shoulder surgeries. Schwartz missed a chunk of last season with a lower-body injury and tallied only 21 points (eight goals, 13 assists) in 40 games.

Featured Podcast

See all