aguilar2

Apr 13, 2021; Atlanta, Georgia, USA; Miami Marlins first baseman Jesus Aguilar celebrates after defeating the Atlanta Braves at Truist Park. Mandatory Credit: Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Jesús Aguilar reached base four times Tuesday night to help the Miami Marlins beat the Atlanta Braves. Here’s proof of Aguilar’s contribution, right in the boxscore.

But sometimes, the greatest contributions to the game don’t show up in the boxscore.

In the sixth inning, Austin Riley of the Braves inside-outed a grounder between Aguilar’s defensive position and the first-base bag. Aguilar realized he was not going to catch the ball or prevent it from leaving the infield by conventional means, so he enacted Plan B. (Or G, for “Glove.”)

Here’s how the Marlins broadcast on Bally Sports Florida & Sun called the action:

OK, it was more like Plan T for “Throwing the Glove.” It was hilarious, no matter the plan. He almost made contact, too. The Braves looked into having the play checked by video review (if it’s even reviewable) but first base ump Alfonso Marquez appeared to be on it.

Aguilar’s glove toss was reminiscent of Tanner Boyle in “Bad News Bears”:

Fish analyst and former MLB outfielder Todd Hollandsworth was right when he said it was against the rules to strike a baseball (presumably one that is moving) by throwing your glove at it. If Aguilar had made contact with the ball, Riley would have been awarded third base. Yikes! Aguilar is obviously a grown man lost in an emotional moment, but even adult baseball players don’t know every intricate MLB rule. Enjoy this episode, fans, because Aguilar won’t be trying it again. Right, Jesús?

Here’s another point of view of Aguilar’s mini-tantrum from the Braves broadcast on Bally Sports South.

That’s Chip Caray sounding like Santa Claus with the ho-ho-ho! It was like Christmas in April.

The labeling by MLB of the video also was funny. “Riley’s single evades Aguilar.” Yes. That is one way of putting it.

Featured Podcast

See all