The greats in St. Louis Blues history soon will have a place to be recognized beyond the rafters at Enterprise Center, the pages of history books and the minds of fans.

The team announced Monday the establishment of the Blues Hall of Fame, which will honor franchise legends, starting with the eight players whose numbers have been retired – Al MacInnis, Bob Gassoff, Bobby Plager, Barclay Plager, Brian Sutter, Brett Hull, Bernie Federko and Chris Pronger – original team owner Sid Salomon Jr. and Hockey Hall of Fame broadcaster Dan Kelly.

Those inductions are automatic, but the inaugural 2022 induction class will include a few others. They'll all be announced on Saturday, Oct. 15, when the Blues host the Columbus Blue Jackets in the 2022-23 season and home opener at Enterprise Center.

The additional inductees -- who could be players, coaches, management and broadcasters who have made a profound impact on the franchise -- will be selected by the Blues Hall of Fame selection committee, a group that includes former and current members of the organization, Blues Alumni and media members, who will submit nominations for consideration. A fan vote that will continue through Oct. 10 at also will be part of the process.

“The St. Louis Blues are one of the most storied franchises in the National Hockey League, a member of the expansion class of 1967, so our history is understandably rich with legendary players, coaches and executives,” said Chris Zimmerman, Blues president and CEO of business operations. “The Blues Hall of Fame is an idea that is long overdue, but soon to become reality. It will honor those who have played a key role in sculpting our franchise and laid the foundation for building St. Louis into the powerful hockey market it is today.”